• 03:10:10 am on June 25, 2008 | 26
    Tags: , , ,

    Let’s get started!

    Yesterday I said: 

    Your life isn’t about your job, your business, or even your money … those things are there to support your life.

    So, doesn’t it make sense to start by finding your Life’s Purpose?

    Of course it does! And, it all starts now:

    Firstly, understand that your Life’s Purpose is not about money, security, accumulation, repaying debt, fast cars … these are just ‘aspects’ of how your life manifests on it’s way to it’s Purpose.

    Now, I’m not talking The Secret here or new Age Manifestation and Visualization – although, you may choose to think of it in those terms.

    I am simply giving you the keys to finding a ‘bigger picture’ of your life … something to shoot at. After all, isn’t it more fun to have a goal – and, is it just possible that a Big Goal might help to produce a Big Outcome … if that’s what you want and need?!

    We will be going through a series of simple tasks (starting today) that will culminate in a short, simple statement of your Life’s Purpose.

    But, today – indeed, this week – all I want you to do is get your creative juices flowing by thinking about (and writing down) your answers to some simple questions.

    Be Warned: the questions may seem simple, but the depth that you are willing to go into answering them (which is why I am giving you a whole week to ‘wallow’ in them) will go to how successful you will be in life. Period.

    So, let’s get started …

    Q1: What do you want your future to be like?

    Q2: What are the the things that you value most in your life right now?

    Q3: How would you like to (one day) be able to describe your life to your grand-children?

    Q4: What do you dream about? What do you daydream about?

    Q5: If you have done things differently, what would you be doing right now?

    Q6: If you can do things differently, what would you like to be doing in 5 years? 10 years? 20 years?

    Q7: What is stopping you from doing things differently?

    Q8: If you no longer HAD to work what would you be doing with your time? When would you like to start doing it?

    Q9: What is missing from your life right now?

    Q10: What are your greatest strengths and weaknesses?

    That’s it … 10 powerful questions to chew over …. start chewing!

     

     

Comments

  • Jason Dragon 4:20 am on June 25, 2008 | #

    Ohhhh an assignment without a word limit….that is risky 🙂 It could be a novel you know.

  • Scott 4:48 am on June 25, 2008 | #

    LoL, no kidding. Great post, and solid questions Adrian! This is the perfect place for us all to start.

  • Josh 11:01 am on June 25, 2008 | #

    Thanks for the week. It’s gonna take at least that, to really answer these correctly.

  • AJC 11:21 am on June 25, 2008 | #

    @ Josh – ‘correctly’ for you 🙂 … and, you are right, it will take a week for each step. When I used to do this with my staff, it would take a bit of to’ing and fro’ing over a day or two. But, we are doing this ‘remotely’ so, we need to allow even more time for the “aha” moments to (hopefully) present themselves.

  • AJC 11:25 am on June 25, 2008 | #

    BTW – for some people this will be intensely personal, so I won’t be asking to see your answers to these ‘lead-in’ questions …

  • Scott 2:07 pm on June 25, 2008 | #

    Hehe, I’ve already printed these out and answered them and re-answered them. I’m afraid to look at my answers again…it might require even deeper introspection…

  • Scott 2:17 pm on June 25, 2008 | #

    BTW, I know this sounds pretty stupid, but anyway, can someone tell me how to post my avatar picture up for my comments?? I’m trying to get a pic of me at the Porsche dealership so I can rival Adrian’s pic!

  • Luis 2:45 pm on June 25, 2008 | #

    I just finished reading an article in the LA Times about Billy Goat. BG’s goal is 50 by 80.

    50,000 miles walked by the age of 80!

    I share this story as inspiration.
    “The trail is his destination”
    http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-billygoat25-2008jun25,0,4753131.story

    Enjoy.

    thanks, AJC

  • Diane 2:59 pm on June 25, 2008 | #

    AJ- reminds me of a creative writing assignment I gave a class once…to Queen’s We Are the Champions. Write your epitaph.

  • markwws 8:00 pm on June 25, 2008 | #

    This will help form the personal vision and mission. Everyone will benefit from this. Looking forward to complete mine seriously. Adrian, is this something to do with the Primary Aim in E-Myth Revisited?

  • AJC 11:14 pm on June 25, 2008 | #

    @ Scott – 2:1 says you will revise at least 2 more times before the week is up 🙂

    @ Luis – Thanks for the link; I had never heard of ultra-long-distance backpacking before. Coincidentally, I am at a US National Park as I write this!

    @ Diane – No fair … you peeked ahead! Have a go at writing your own epitaph … an amazingly powerful experience. These exercises will help you prepare for such an undertaking, should you prefer to wait …

    @ Mark – I can neither confirm nor deny that rumor …

  • anotherJason 7:52 am on June 26, 2008 | #

    @ Scott-I agree, it’s difficult to answer these only once. These questions really have me thinking about myself … something I haven’t done much before.

    Great exercise AJC!

  • Shannan 2:23 pm on June 26, 2008 | #

    @Luis – Thanks for sharing. That’s a great story and an enviable thing – to know for sure your life’s passion and direction.

  • AJC 8:07 pm on June 26, 2008 | #

    @ Jason – … and, we’re JUST getting started!

    @ Shannon – if I’m right, in just three weeks you’ll also “know for sure your life’s passion and direction” … but, if I’m wrong, then you’ll at least have a good point to start working Your Number from …

  • Deanna 11:24 pm on June 28, 2008 | #

    @ Scott – I’ve done the same thing, reworked my answers over and over again. Every time I learn something else about myself 🙂

  • The Hidden Risk of your 401k … « How to Make 7 Million in 7 Years™ 12:46 pm on July 1, 2008 | #

    […] not, either read this and do this … or, you’ve just wasted a valuable 3.5 minutes beer drinking, relaxing time that would […]

  • Moneymonk 10:04 am on July 3, 2008 | #

    I can honestly say I’m doing it all, I doing what I dream about and not much is missing from my life.

    However, during the day I’m still accountable to be somewhere at the same time and leave at the same time. No flexibility there.

    But I found my destiny in life after hours LOL

  • AJC 12:23 pm on July 3, 2008 | #

    @ MoneyMonk – will that hold true for your WHOLE LIFE? We’re talking long-term here 😉

  • My Real Estate Investment Efforts « Minding My Own Business 11:37 am on July 7, 2008 | #

    […] methods of saving (401K, IRA’s etc.) and establish a retirement worth having.  The more I dwell on my life’s purpose and what I want and don’t want in my life, the more I realize that I want my retirement […]

  • Minding My Own Business - Just another WordPress weblog » My Real Estate Investment Efforts 10:23 pm on July 7, 2008 | #

    […] methods of saving (401K, IRA’s etc.) and establish a retirement worth having.  The more I dwell on my life’s purpose and what I want and don’t want in my life, the more I realize that I want my retirement […]

  • It’s a Wonderful Life … « How to Make 7 Million in 7 Years™ 2:30 am on July 13, 2008 | #

    […] To answer 10 ’soul searching’ life questions. […]

  • Off and running! « 2:20 am on September 13, 2008 | #

    […] at least a couple of the questions that got them started on their Life’s […]

  • In Search of Mark’s Life Purpose « 2:45 am on September 22, 2008 | #

    […] to revisit my notes. I find some of my answers rather interesting. For example, question 4 from “Let’s get started!” reads, “What do you dream about? What do you daydream about?”. I don’t day dream […]

  • Personal Finances And Money Management: Planning For Retirement | Minding My Own Business 8:48 am on September 28, 2008 | #

    […] from a long life of hectic routines and scheduled work; for others it may be a time to actually fulfill their dreams and life purpose  by doing what they enjoy most.  Just because your working career may be over, doesn’t mean your investing career is.  […]

  • Finding Your Growth Engine! « 1:09 pm on December 19, 2008 | #

    […] 2. Next, I suggest that you go back and review the questions that you asked yourself to help you fire up your creativity when you first started looking at Your Life’s Purpose; in case you want to redo them (or you can’t find your notes) here are those 10 Questions again: […]

  • Connecting the dots « 2:52 am on January 12, 2009 | #

    […] started off with the lengthy but necessary Life Purpose exercise. For this particular exercise, I found out that money has little to do with my […]


Leave a Reply

