• 02:50:44 am on June 24, 2008 | 15
    Tags: , , , ,

    Finding your Life’s Purpose …

    This is the first day of the rest of your financial life …

    … for each of the lucky Final 15 ‘golden ticket’ holders – and for all of those piggy-backing on what they are about to do – you are (I hope) about to get a very clear vision of your Life’s Purpose.

    I can’t tell you why this will be critical for you … I can only share why it was probably the most critical thing that I ever did on my journey to $7 million in 7 years:

    I count my 7 years as starting in 1998:

    … I was $30k in debt and my two businesses combined were losing about $5k a month. I was what you would call “broke … with prospects”.

    Since I had no idea how to fix the situation, I did what any self-respecting person would do: I lucked upon a book!

    The book was called The E-Myth Revisited by Michael Gerber and I bought it to help me get out of the hole that I was in …

    … not, the financial hole – I had NO idea that the book (or any book!) could help me with that – rather the personal hole (more like hell) that I was going through working in my businesses rather than on them.

    No, the epiphany came when I did the very first exercise in that book (and, that’s why I suggest that EVERYBODY reads it … just for that chapter) and learned the most important lesson of my financial life:

    My life wasn’t about my business (or my money) … my business was there to support my life.

    You have NO idea how important that was to read … and, how scary it was when the book then went on to show me how to cost that life.

    You see, I realized that for the life that I wanted … actually, needed … I had to be ‘wealthy’ 

    Damn, why couldn’t I just ‘need’ to live on a kibbutz?!

     The same holds true for you …

    Your life isn’t about your job, your business, or even your money … those things are there to support your life.

    So, doesn’t it make sense to start by finding out what your life is all about?

    Isn’t it truly about finding your Life’s Purpose?

    Well, starting tomorrow, we’re going to do just that!

    Startting tomorrow – and continuing over the next three weeks – I’m going to break this up into easy, bite-size pieces for you and give you plenty of time to chew each of them over, in order … it’s THAT important!

    Stick with me … your journey starts NOW!

     

Comments

  • Diane 7:07 am on June 24, 2008 | #

    Been trying to get that book from the library ever since I saw it listed as one of the big “four” from the 4-hour work week book. Would not have expected it to be the place where he was inspired to refocus his life and determine how much his dreams cost. Ordering from the library helps me save costs (I buy way too many books). There appear to be several versions of this “chicken soup for the xxx” out there (“E-myth revisited for xxx or yyy, zzz, etc.”) Which is the original and preferred? Thanks!

  • AJC 11:08 am on June 24, 2008 | #

    @ Diane – Plain ol’ “The E-Myth Revisited” should do the trick … it’s really only for one chapter (unless owning a business is in your scheme of things… in which case the whole book is a must).

  • Diane 11:49 am on June 24, 2008 | #

    The other versions are probably available in the closest libraries to me – if it’s only one chapter – perhaps it’s covered in all the verions? I do want to own a business or more, so would like to read the whole book….not sure if I’ll want to own it, but can decide later I know 😉 ~ Thanks, AJ!

  • Debbie 12:06 pm on June 24, 2008 | #

    I just bought “The E-Myth Revisited” and “E-Myth Mastery” since they were side by side at barnes and nobles and I couldn’t resist. Being a business owner, I’m excited to read something that you speak so highly of AJC…

  • Lee 3:54 pm on June 24, 2008 | #

    I got “E-Myth Revisited” and I’m very intersted in reading it. It’ll be a great study in semantics because being a preacher, “purpose” is a very important concept to me. I’m excited about where this might take us.

  • Heidi 6:38 am on June 25, 2008 | #

    Finally got my E-myth Revisited in! And I ordered it from Amazon, how slow is that! Can’t wait to crack it open!

  • markwws 8:07 pm on June 25, 2008 | #

    The book is a great read! Should be the first thing an aspiring entrepreneur should read. Thanks for the book, Adrian. The knowledge gained is priceless.

  • AJC 11:00 pm on June 25, 2008 | #

    @ Mark – I wasted a lot of time waiting for that book to come in to my life … you now have a major head start!

  • Look! I’ve got a Golden Ticket! « How to Make 7 Million in 7 Years™ 2:43 pm on June 29, 2008 | #

    […] PS If you want to become wealthy, as well, then you had better follow their journey, which starts here. […]

  • The Hidden Risk of your 401k … « How to Make 7 Million in 7 Years™ 12:43 pm on July 1, 2008 | #

    […] not, either read this and do this … or, you’ve just wasted a valuable 3.5 minutes beer drinking, relaxing […]

  • Why don’t you have it already? « 2:37 am on July 8, 2008 | #

    […] have started the first part of our journey together … and, I sincerely hope that you are following along, […]

  • Does diversification really suck? « How to Make 7 Million in 7 Years™ 9:35 am on July 15, 2008 | #

    […] to support Your Lfe’s Dream – whatever that may be; however much it may […]

  • Building Your “Lee’s List” … « 2:17 am on September 29, 2008 | #

    […] may be a believer in the concept of Your Life’s Purpose, or you may feel that it is total bunkum […]

  • Passion before money … « How to Make 7 Million in 7 Years™ 2:45 am on October 7, 2008 | #

    […] have provided some exercises to help you understand your Life’s Purpose, hence your Number; similarly, George Kinder poses […]

  • Finding your Life’s Purpose! « How to Make 7 Million in 7 Years™ 12:42 pm on November 25, 2008 | #

    […] Because it begins now … with finding Your Life’s Purpose. […]


Leave a Reply

